My Semi-Formal Hairstyle

Hey everyone, it’s T here. I know our posting schedule hasn’t been regular lately, but big things have been happening. M went to an Ariana Grande concert last night, which is absolutely amazing, and I got my first boyfriend! Today, I wanted to talk about my hairstyle for the semi-formal dance we are all going to tonight. Usually I just run a brush through my hair and call it a day. I obviously cannot do my usual look for this occasion, as something a little more put together was necessary, so I decided to go with the Hollywood-esque curls for this event. Without further ado, let’s get into the hairstyle!

To start off this look, I had to shower and let my hair air-dry beforehand, because I wanted to make sure it wouldn’t get greasy by the end of the night.(you could also blow-dry it if you preferred) Many people swear by using “second day hair” which gives it more texture because of the natural oils, but I have just never been able to commit to that without finding a quality dry shampoo first. After I let my hair dry, which can take quite a few hours with how thick it is, I then start the curling process. This step can take about an hour for me, but maybe a little less depending on how much I rush. For most people, however, you could probably do this in about 30 minutes, I just have a lot of hair to deal with. I used a 1.5 inch barrel with a clamp, and curling in both directions to make it look more natural. I always need to use hair spray with every curl I make to ensure it will hold all night.

After my whole head is curled, then starts the deconstructing. At this stage the curls are very defined, and you might look a bit like Shirley Temple. To solve this problem, flip your head upside down and run your fingers through your hair, and alternate with spraying it some more (while you’re still upside down). This will loosen the hold and give you more of a romantic wave. This takes some playing around with to get it just right, so just keep working with it until you get the desired effect.

473b119918fa195e22e8b204f6c9ae89This was my inspiration picture for what I wanted my hair to look like.

This would be the point when you could decide to pin back a few pieces or create a nice up-do, but I decided to leave it down, so I’ll just spray it once more, because my hair definitely needs all of the help it can get. (If your hair holds curls well, you don’t have to spray it every time I recommended you do so)

Well that’s all I have to share with you today, I hope you enjoyed, and let me know how your hair comes out if you decide to try it. Thanks for reading!

Ciao for now, T.

Leave a Reply

