Book Reccomendations

Hi, it’s P! I noticed lately that most of our posts revolve around beauty tips and food. Don’t get me wrong, I think that’s great, but I thought that maybe I’d shake things up today by sharing some of my favorite books with you! Most of the books I read are YA novels, but I try to venture out from that occasionally. I’m a huge fan of dystopian books, and it’s a big plus for anything I’m reading if there’s some sort of romantic storyline. 

While I’m still in the beginning of this book, I’m currently reading Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy. It’s a classic Russian book about a woman named Anna and her affair with Count Vronsky, a young noble. I looked into this book originally because I’d heard a lot about it, and the steamy sounding story line sealed the deal for me. I had my doubts about reading a classic book that old, as I’d never been able to read books like that assigned to me in school, however it’s so different when you chose it for yourself. I find myself interested in the lives of the characters. I’m always looking forward to the next time I get a chance to pick that book up. 

Another book I’m very fond of is Battle Royale by Koushun Takami. This is actually my favorite book. When I was a sophomore in high school I did a huge research project all about it. This is a dystopian novel about a police state Japan in the year 1997. In this fictional version of Japan, the government has complete control over their citizen and each year choses one class of 9th graders to fight to the death is a secluded environment for ‘research purposes’. When I explained this to all my classmates for my project, expectedly everyone compared it to The Hunger Games, but I never thought of it this way. Battle Royale is a book so its own that there’s no way to compare it to others. While reading it, it will immerse you so completely; the insights into the different character’s minds are really so amazing. 

One book I read in middle school that I’ll always love is Kane and Able by Jeffery Archer. It’s a splendid novel about two men who could not be more different, yet affect each other’s lives in extraordinary and unexpected ways. This book had me relating to characters that were vastly different from myself. I ended up pitying characters I’d thought I would have aversion to, and abhorring characters I’d originally respected. This book had me hooked at every turn and changed my mood on every sentence. 

I’ve always loved books. I love reading them and discussing them and I LOVE sharing them with my friends (unlike T, though, I can’t write them). That’s why I’m glad to have an opportunity to share some of my favorites with you lovely people. If you like my suggestions, let me know, I’d love to make another post like this again in the future!

One thought on “Book Reccomendations

Leave a Reply

